Cheesey Spinach Muffins

I was in a ‘salty baking’ mood today, which resulted in 

spinach & cheese muffins

To begin, I sauteed 1/3 red onion in a few tbsp of butter
While the onions were cooking, I combined

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tbsp baking powder
a pinch of cumin & paprika
salt & pepper

In a separate bowl:

1 1/4 cup milk
1 beaten egg
1 cup grated cheddar cheese

handful of chopped spinach

After the onions were done, I added 1/4 cup butter to melt in the pan, then poured the buttery onions into the wet ingredient bowl.

Combine flour mixture with the wet, scoop into a muffin tin and bake at 350 for approx 20 mins.
They’re so good it hurts. Court and I each ate a couple.. I hope we don’t ruin our dinner appetites… Alaskan King crab is on tonights menu!

2 thoughts on “Cheesey Spinach Muffins

  1. Anonymous

    Thank you! Had some thawed spinach that we had forgotten to put in canneloni last night and trying to figure out what to do with it in a healthy baking way. Just googled "whole wheat spinach cheese muffins" and this came up! So simple and so yummy.

    Reply

Leave a comment